Monday, March 12, 2012

Wayfare Non-Dairy Gluten-Free Products

Who would think that a product made from millet, lima beans, rice, and oats could look or taste anything remotely like chocolate pudding? The folks at Wayfare did – and they created a line of vegan, gluten-free, non-dairy foods around ideas like that one!

I was lucky enough to receive a box of samples from Wayfare to try, which means (drumroll…) product review time!

They sent me three puddings – the usual suspects – chocolate, vanilla, and butterscotch. Guess which I decided to try first?

The chocolate pudding looks as creamy and luscious as any traditional pudding would. Wayfare’s non-dairy version contains water, millet, lima beans, rice, oat bran, oats, evaporated cane juice, safflower oil, coconut oil, natural cocoa powder, tapioca, natural vanilla flavor, sea salt, locust bean gum, calcium carbonate, and cultured dextrose. All of the ingredients are vegan, dairy-free, and soy-free. All of the oats are certified gluten-free. Yippee!!

While I was impressed by the ingredients list, I couldn’t imagine that this combination could taste like chocolate. I was truly pleasantly surprised by the chocolate pudding. (Keep in mind that I am very picky about my chocolate.) It was smooth and creamy, and – while not the richest chocolate taste – definitely satisfying.

Wayfare’s mission statement is: To work unselfishly for the benefit of all people by creating simple, delicious, healthful, plant-based foods, that will promote life and not bring disease.

Gotta love it.

In addition to the puddings, Wayfare sent me some non-dairy cheeses and sour cream to try. I’m busy dreaming up something to make with those!


Laura said...

I am a doubter (listening to those ingredients), but if you say so, I guess I'm wiling to give it a try. :) Gotta find something to eat that looks 'normal' to take to work! Thanks...I'll let you know what I think.

ken k said...

i saw the gluten free label and got lots of abdominal discomfort after eating.....the oats is a problem and tho you reveal the presence of ots I am not sure it should proclaim gluten free as smany celiacs cannot have ots....I know they're are products claiming gluten free oats but many of us cannot have oats safely....sorry your formuals contain them as I am usually excited to find new products....

Maia Dobson said...

I've tasted their gluten free pudding just last week and I'd say it's very delicious. It made me want to try and make my own pudding. I even went to buy gluten free products in Long Island and see if I could make some pudding.